Fallen Heroes

The Odessa Peace Officers Memorial Foundation presented its monument in honor and memory of the five fallen Odessa Police Department officers:

  • Corporal John Scott Gardner
  • Corporal Arlie "Lee" Jones Jr.
  • Corporal Abel Renteria Marquez
  • Officer Scott Stanton Smith
  • Corporal Gordon Terry Toal

Since October of 2007, the Foundation worked very diligently to raise money to build a monument in memory of the officers that were ambushed in September of 2007 while responding to a domestic disturbance. The monument would also honor the two Odessa Motorcycle Officers who died in the line of the duty during the 1980s.

With the help of generous donators, fund raising efforts and volunteers, the Foundation's dream became a reality. 

  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

Monument Description

The monument, a statue of Saint Michael the Archangel with a fallen officer, was dedicated on September 3, 2010, and sits on the front lawn of the Odessa Police Department.

Mr. Paul Tadlock of Gruene, Texas sculpted the statue. It sits atop a 3 foot granite base with bronze name plates of the fallen officers. 4 beautiful benches, air brushed with the fallen officers badges, also adorn the lawn.

Fallen Heroes

  1. John "Scott" Gardner
  2. Arlie Jones
  3. Abel Marquez
  4. Scott Smith
  5. Gordon Terry Toal

John (Scott) GardnerCorporal John (Scott) Gardner

Corporal Gardner served with the agency for just over 4 years and had previously served as an animal control officer.

To see a video in remembrance of Corporal John Scott Gardner, CLICK HERE.